Lucy by William Wordsworth

1st year classes Lect.Asmaa Mukaram Saeed



The Lucy poems are a series of five poems composed by the English Romantic poet William Wordsworth (1770– 1850) between 1798 and 1801. All but one were first published during 1800 in the second edition of Lyrical **Ballads**, a collaboration between Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge that was both Wordsworth's first major publication and a milestone in the early English Romantic movement. [A 1] In the series, Wordsworth sought to write unaffected English verse infused with abstract ideals of beauty, nature, love, longing and death.

She dwelt among the untrodden ways Beside the springs of Dove, A maid whom there were none to praise And very few to love;





THANK YOU